WVTF/RADIO IQ Wins National Award for Investigative Reporting.

WVTF and RADIO IQ Honored for Investigative Reporting, Continuous Coverage and In-Depth Series:

WVTF and RADIO IQ have won a top national award for investigative reporting from the Society of Professional Journalists.  Our Charlottesville Bureau Chief Sandy Hausman will accept the honor on June 21 at the National Press Club in Washington.

Our winning entry was one of 1,700 received by SPJ from newspapers, broadcasters, networks and websites.  Hausman’s report -- Naming the Fralin -- explored the questionable way in which a member of the board of visitors secured naming rights to the University of Virginia’s art museum.

Founded in 1909, the Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation.

Other recent recognition received by WVTF/RADIO IQ:

Two Edward R. Murrow regional awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association for continuing coverage and best series, with Crisis on Campus: The Fall and Rise of Teresa Sullivan and Hazardous Hospitals -- a week-long series on hospital acquired infection.  Also produced by Sandy Hausman and chosen from a record number of submissions by broadcast newsrooms in Virginia, Maryland, the District of Columbia, and Delaware, those two entries now go on to national competition.  National winners will be selected this summer.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession. RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. It represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable, and digital media in more than 30 countries.

Sandy Hausman joined the WVTF/RADIO IQ news team in 2008, moving to Virginia from Chicago where she reported for Chicago Public Radio.  Since that time, she has won more than a dozen national and regional awards for reporting.